The Myth of Talent

 

 

Caught in the ice

I am a big fan of a photography site called The Mindful Eye, written by Craig Tanner. I find Tanner to be remarkable in his attention to developing his reader’s creativity. He makes thoughtful and enlightening observations on images sent by photographers at all levels.

I recently came across an essay Tanner wrote called “The Myth of Talent.” He believes that talent is not a birthright but rather the result of  “… long term focused practice powered by passion and love of the process.” I have often been inspired by his ideas and specific assignments designed to “create space for artistic growth.” I have also often questioned whether or not I am a creative person or a just a good re-creator (see “What Does It Mean to Be Creative?”). Tanner’s essay finally gave me the courage I need to share some of my abstract photographs collected over the past couple of years.

Decaying tree

Since one of Tanner’s seven ways to “Create Your Own Space for Artistic Growth” is to “create goals and share them with the universe,” here is my first one.  You will begin to play more with the idea of photographic abstraction and share some of the resulting images with others without fear of negative reaction.

Now, I am a child of the 1950’s, an age of convention where all my teenage girl friends and I wore the same outfit: matching skirt and sweater (preferably cashmere), a small matching scarf, and bobby socks. The colors changed but nothing much else. Years later, when I started to explore the world of photography, I took images of the world I assumed everyone saw. Didn’t everyone see the same thing?

Self-portrait

But along the way, I began to be pulled by another world of images, those that I could create in my imagination that no one else could see. I had a lot of fun playing with small camera movement, defocusing the subject, taking images out of their context, looking for reflections, and enlarging an image to the point of distortion. And now I’m sharing some of the results. As Craig Tanner suggested, I’ve done it for “love of the process.” (Gerri)

 

 

About bruceandgerri

Bruce is a paper artist and Gerri a nature photographer who work from their Deer Run Studio in Tucker County, West Virginia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Myth of Talent

  1. Linda Sinish says:

    Gerri,
    I too agree that talent isn’t some natural part of our being, but is a development of the innate passion of the soul being driven to express and create. Years ago I was taking bango lessons and my instructors said to me that ‘there’s no such thing as talent…there is passion behind the practice to develop a skill.’ Apparently I didn’t have enough passion for the bango! But, through enough exploration of different arts my passion finally found its medium. In addition to our driving passion, I believe a piece of art becomes spirited when another person feels the same inherent connection.
    My feet have taken me into many a gallery to explore the works of artists, but honestly, I’ve never had the pleasure of experiencing your imaginative and creative style. Bravo and thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

