Tucker County Artisans Invade Randolf County

Jill Evick of Parsons designs and handcrafts jewelry

Last week I was one of the many vendors selling at the Spring Fling Fair that was held in Elkins.  I know, I know, this blog is about the creative talents here in Tucker County.  But that’s exactly what I found.  Yep!  Just about every artisan at this fair lives in Tucker County.  We are everywhere!

For this event I placed my expectations on having fun and perhaps networking.  Well, I got exactly that!  It just goes to prove ‘Be careful what you ask for.  You just might get it.’  In my case I was delighted.

Cindi of Hambleton creates essential oil soaps

 

As I entered the exhibition room I was surrounded by a flurry of activity as these talented artisans now transformed themselves into vendors.  There was little talking with the exception of someone saying ‘excuse me’ as they passed with their carts loaded with boxes.  There was a strange hum and a high energy as everyone moved quickly to setup in preparation for the doors to open to the public.  This is the

Twisted Wire & Metal Jeweler from Hambleton is hiding behind the camera

other side of the creative process.  It’s one thing to be alone in the studio or at the kitchen table creating, but it’s a whole other ball of wax when it comes to selling.  It can be daunting getting over that rejected feeling when someone doesn’t seem to agree with your idea of art.  I found myself mentally thinking ‘next!’  And sure enough the next person opened their wallet.  No!  Art isn’t all about money, but it sure helps to be validated and to pay living expenses.  I do like to eat.

Thank you for reading our blog.  ~ Linda

This entry was posted in Area Profiles, Art as Business, Community Event, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tucker County Artisans Invade Randolf County

  1. Pingback: Showing Pride in Student Artists | CreateTucker

Leave a Reply

