Treasure Hunt

”Artists are just children who refuse to put down their crayons.”~Al Hirschfeld

Living in Tucker County has many advantages for the arts community.  There doesn’t seem to be a lack of inspiration.  But where do you get your supplies?  Traveling around and exploring this fantastic mountain region, there are the advantages of the quietness, to allow the creative juices to flow.  And with fewer distractions, compared to a metropolitan area, there is more time.  And hidden in this vastness are so many talented and skilled artists and artisans.

 But, my dilemma is finding the materials needed in-order to make art.  When I turn this around to a positive, it has become a treasure hunt and kindled my imagination to use new objects and materials.   But, there are some things that are needed that aren’t naturally found in Mother Nature’s playground.

One thing I have learned is that the creative people of Tucker County are very resourceful. A painter that typically uses canvas or paper may find a natural canvas with some bark from a white birch tree, a rock, or feather.  But, where are the paints, pastels, and pencils?  A jeweler needs metal or beads.  A textile artist needs fabrics and threads.  The potter needs clay and ceramic.  And where are the tools, the brushes, the wheel, the hammer, etc. to be found?

Please take a moment and let our readers know where you buy or find the materials that you use to make your art or artisan crafts.  Do you take a road trip?  Do you order on-line?  Where do you shop for your art supplies?

Who knows, you just might be the Muse that inspires a new artist to emerge!  If only they had the resources and materials they need to begin.

It all starts with crayons and then we want more…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Treasure Hunt

  1. Katie G. says:

    Great post Linda! I hadn’t thought about where artists might buy the supplies they need, but you’re right. Without a big retailer near by, it must be a lot like treasure hunting.

    I have seen a lot of hardware stores though… is that somewhere you might find the metal wires and such that you’d need?

  2. Linda Sinish says:

    Thank you Katie, Yes, hardware stores and even thrift stores offer some surprising finds for artists. I have been known to pickup some wire and metal washers to use. I have recently been introduced to auctions and can’t wait to see if I find any supplies.

    However, most of my speciality items comes by the friendly Fedex or UPS drivers. Wire by the pound comes from T.B. Hagstoz & Sons (215.922.1627) out of Philadelphia. For anyone looking for jewelry supplies I suggest http://www.firemountaingems.com. And of course there is our friendly Google search engine. But I really wish there was a local art supplier. There’s so much value in actually seeing and touching before the purchase. Hopefully the Tucker County artists will have some ideas.

    I’ll see you all on March 20th at the Create Tucker party – Folks, watch this blog for details.

  3. Hi Linda,
    These websites might be of help to your readers: http://www.cheapjoes.com and
    http://www.jerrysartarama.com. Both stores are located in NC and are quick to get orders out—like 2 to 3 days regular ground delivery. Hope this helps someone:). Titi Ferguson

    • Linda Sinish says:

      Hi Titi,
      Thank you for your wonderful art supply resources. This information will be of immense value to the artist and artisans of Tucker County. I’m thrilled to see you here on the Create Tucker blog and hope to hear from you again.

      On a personal note, I’m looking forward to meeting with you in person. I love your watercolor paintings. Linda

  4. Linda Sinish says:

    I thought I’d add a few web resources for those of you who make jewelry. These are my favorites and have been using them for years with success. I’m always looking for good prices and customer service and these supplies are my favorites.
    For wire and metal I use: http://www.hagstoz.com
    Beads and findings: http://www.firemountaingems.com (a large discount when the order is 50 or more items OR for smaller orders and no shipping charge try http://www.artbeads.com
    For specialty tools: http://www.fundametals.net or http://www.riogrande.com
    Note: Please contact me here if you need more help with finding supplies and I’ll do my best to help you. – Linda

Leave a Reply

