About That Other World

Seth just wrote “Recently, in another world.’ We’re writing to say thanks, Seth, for taking us there. That’s the simplest way we can respond to Seth’s observations about where his art comes from. An artist is in essence an explorer, someone who enters unfamiliar terrain and then reports back. The language of that “report” can be image, sound, movement, metaphor, story, structure: we call it art. You might also say that an artist’s exploration of that “other world” is a way of understanding or reacting to this world.

The artist’s exploration can be in terms of subject matter or tools and techniques. Speaking for myself (Bruce), my exploration lately has been through using materials that are new to me. My subject continues to be images that look like the landscape of Tucker County, although I know that what I’m responding to is something elemental about life cycles.

Here’s a small piece I did two years ago because I somehow became interested in the use of string along with artisan papers and a leaf to suggest the feeling of windswept winter landscape.

Then last fall I revisited that same theme. I’d found different strings and papers and I was still trying to understand something about my response to the winter experience. Here’s what I came up with.

The phrase “in the dead of winter” has always intrigued me because I see the opposite—snow, grass, and sky in stark simplicity suggesting elements of life continuing, though at rest, not ending.

So on this first day of winter, here’s our Tucker County greeting for your Holidays and the New Year.

About bruceandgerri

Bruce is a paper artist and Gerri a nature photographer who work from their Deer Run Studio in Tucker County, West Virginia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to About That Other World

  1. Linda Sinish says:

    Bruce, This is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to see your work. It is fantastic! I love the light feeling and the ‘light’ being expressed. I can’t wait to see and experience your work in person and to see how you express yourself with texture. You have a very unique and creative approach.

  2. Bruce W says:

    Linda,
    You are very kind to respond and to comment on light and texture in my work. The qualities of light fascinate me–the way light changes, how it affects the way we respond to what we see, the appearance image-on-image as in reflections on water, and the possibility of seeing through one layer of reality into another as through fog or water. As to texture, it is the particular joy of working with paper and multi-media collage. I’ve visited your very rewarding website (http://artyzenstudio.blogspot.com/2009/01/linda-sinish-my-trip-to-blog-land.html) and am looking forward to seeing more of your jewelry creations. Thanks for reading and commenting.
    Bruce

  3. Kathy O says:

    Bruce –

    I just saw your comments in the blog and had to send along a message to you. I saw the grass-scape picture in the gallery and was drawn to it immediately. Your use of the different media captured the grasses and landscape in a way I had not seen before. It now proudly resides in the foyer of my home and greets me every time I walk in the door. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

Leave a Reply

